information  |  news  |  training  |  ambuglances  |  forum   |  library  |  photo gallery  |  links Awards Submission   | contact us



Next year is the 40th anniversary of the formation of the EMS Council. Can you locate any of these people for the celebration at the 2019 EMS Awards Banquet?


Established August 15, 1979


County:                Member 1                                                           Member 2___________


Bartow                 Richard A. Griffin III, M.D.***                     Mrs. Cola Mae Vaughan


Catoosa                John O. Wiggins, Attorney                            Roger Bowman


Chattooga           Mike Carmon                                                     Herman E. Spivey, M.D.


Cherokee            John D. Whitmire                                             Steven Pettit


Dade                     Mrs. Patti Connell, RN*                                 Johnny Crabtree


Fannin                  Richard Stanley                                                 Robert Graham


Floyd                     James M. Kelley, M.D.*                                 Stanley Payne


Gordon                John R. McGauley, M.D. *                             W.S. (Buddy) Autry


Gilmer                  J.T. Dale                                                               Vacant


Haralson              Herman A. Cantrell*                                       Mike Ellis


Murray                 Bruce A. Satterfield                                         Larry Ballew


Paulding               James H. Benson*                                           Ms. Hallie Few


Pickens                 Victor E. Vandegriff                                         Herbert T. White


Polk                       Clinton Lester Jr. *                                           Miss Mamie Hammock, RN


Walker                  James H. Creel Jr. M.D.* *                             Robert S. Gammon


Whitfield             Leonard Whaley                                               Conrad H. Easley, M.D.


*** Chairman

** Regional Medical Director

* Executive Committee


Health District 1.1 Health Director            Virginia Hamilton M.D.

Regional EMS coordinator                            Frank Tidwell

EMS Project Director                                      David Loftin














A new webpage has been created to give information on EMS course availability. Please click here to access the page


GEMSIS Elite Regional Workshops

Target Audience: All EMS Licensed Agencies in Georgia; Directors and Data Managers, EMS Initial Education Program Directors

Description: This workshop is for all licensed EMS agencies, whether you use GEMSIS Elite as your PCR platform or you import into GEMSIS Elite and EMS Initial Education Program Directors

This workshop is to join together to understand and improve our EMS data collection within Georgia’s EMS system.

We will review:

NEMSIS and GEMSIS, Data Dictionaries, resources available
The differences between NEMSIS and GEMSIS and how they interface.
EMS Data; What is the difference between accurate and valid data? Why is accurate, valid, timely data important. How is the ems data useful at the local, regional, state and national level.
GEMSIS Elite usability for the service that uses GEMSIS for their PCR platform and for the agencies that import
GEMSIS Elite Report Writer and capabilities for all services
CARES data the next development
GEMSIS/NEMSIS future version
All participants should bring a laptop and have a functioning username/password (access) to GEMSIS Elite for your agency prior to the workshop.

​These are the dates for each Region:

Region 1 - October 2 Location TBA
Region 2 - October 16 Habersham County (Tentative loction)
Region 3 - ​ November 1 Location TBA
Region 4 - October 3 Location TBA
Region 5 - November 2 GPSTC
Region 6 - August 28 Augusta Marriott Riverfront in Augusta, GA
Region 7 - September 12 Location TBA
Region 8 - September 13 Location TBA
Region 9 - August 29 Jesup, GA - Coastal Pines Technical College
All classes times 10:00 am - 3:00 pm with lunch provided​. Cost is free.
Watch our website for more details on final locations.


This Program is made possible by State of Georgia funding provided through the Georgia Trauma Care Network Commission.


Questions concerning this Grant should be directed to Cathy M. White, Program Coordinator or Kim Littleton, Executive Director.



William Channell is the new Strike Team #2 Strike Team Leader (Floyd, Gordon, Murray & Whitfield Counties) for NW GA EMS DART. He joins Dewayne Wilson (STL 1) Danny West (STL 3) and Carlton Firestone (STL 4) as the DART STL’s…If you are in his Strike team area, please make sure that y’all have each other’s director/supervisor/24 hr contact info in case an activation is needed.


Donate to Northwest Georgia EMS Systems Inc. (a 501C3 not for profit corporation). The funds will be used to improve the system, create educational programs for EMS providers and support recognition of EMS Professionals.  You may also mail donations to Northwest Georgia EMS Systems Inc at 500 Riverside Parkway N.W. Rome, GA 30161.





Click on the link below to donate   




Northwest Georgia Emergency Medical Services System
Webmaster David Loftin  
Copyright © 2016-2018 Region I EMS.  All rights reserved.   |   Privacy information and terms of service.
Developed by Eric Nix under authority of Northwest Georgia EMS Systems Inc.
Disclaimer: This website is not owned or maintained by the Office of EMS or any governmental agency